Getting back in shape….

Is not fun.  That’s really all that this post needs to say.  Actually the main thing that this post should say is “I used to be in shape, I never should have let myself get into this condition.”  Obviously that is a past tense statement, that basically means nothing today.  I know where I’m starting from, know where I want to get, and have a pretty good idea of what it is going to take to get there.  The scariest thing for me to think about is, that I’ve already lost about 30 pounds from where I got to at one point.  I guess on the other side, that helps me to be positive because I know I can get there eventually since I’ve already come a pretty good distance.  Now enough of the story and I’ll actually talk about what was actually in my first two workouts.

Obviously from all the posts about cross country, I like to run.  I’ve been a “runner” since middle school, not counting the 6 or 7 years of fat and lazy after I graduated.  With that in mind, I’m taking on the workout program that I gave to our high school cross country team so I can see what kind of a difference it will make in me.  This week is a base conditioning week, and I’m going to end up with 20 miles.  I went out for an “easy” three miles last night.  The pace was slow but due to how out of shape I am, it was totally not easy.  I’m surprising not that sore (this was my workout last night), so hopefully when I get home from work today I’ll be productive and get through another run.

This morning I started a weight training program that I found by Julien Greaux.  Ok, so I am supposed to do 5 circuits of 10 exercises.  By the time I finished the first circuit, I was pretty much spent.  So this week it is only going to be one time through, and I’ll just keep stepping it up each week.  The other days of lifting are circuit workouts too, but they are doing different things.  Hopeful that I will feel better doing them.

Time to go get a healthy breakfast, a shower, and some good bible study time in before I head into work.

Make every day great,

Chris

 

Leave a Reply

