Purposely been away for awhile…

So I have purposely not written for awhile. I was really waiting for a big announcement that I’m still waiting to hear the final decision on. In the mean time, I’ve started working out a little bit again. Specifically starting working out again today. My weight has again ballooned to a rather large 208 pounds. I really want to get my weight back down to a good running/racing weight, somewhere in the 170 pound range. Today was a good start in getting my body back to the way it really needs to look.

Running has always been my primary exercise of choice, since I was a high school cross country and track runner, and I really want to diversify into a triathlon in the near future. I put in a slow 4 miler this afternoon, 38:35, or 9:39 a mile. I knew my time wouldn’t be fast since I haven’t been running and I intentionally went out extremely overdressed to make sure I sweat a lot. It really wasn’t as difficult as I was expecting, but there is no doubt I’ll likely be very sore tomorrow.

The other area of my old conditioning that I used to thrive on was in the weight room. I never lifted huge amounts of weights other than with my legs, but I just enjoyed the process and the physical differences I noticed in my body over time. Today I started the Julien Greaux weight training program called get ripped stay big 365, that I’m going to do in combination with my running. I won’t hit big weights with it, but it will help to round out my running progress. Here’s day one of the program, I only did 1 circuit but will build up to the 5 circuits he pushes:

Superset:

Burpee Pushups: 1 set of 10 reps
Pullups: 1 set of 10 reps

Alternating Lunge: 1 set of 50 reps, 25 each leg
Vertical Jumps: 1 set of 10 reps
Bench Dips: 1 set of 10 reps
Side by Side Jump Over A Bench: 1 set of 10 reps
Triangle Pushups: 1 set of 10 reps
Hanging Leg Raises: 1 set of 10 reps
Alternating Knee Ups: 20 reps, 10 each leg
Crossover Running Plank: 1 set of 20 reps, 10 each leg
Hanging Side Leg Raise: 1 set of 10 reps

Here’s a link to his whole program

I’ll be back soon with my other announcement hopefully!

Make every day great,
Chris

Leave a Reply

